Green Recipes: Southwest Rice and Corn Salad

Now that spring is [finally] upon us in Utah, I have begun craving lighter dinners. As much as I love all those stews I made over the winter, it’s time to move on. I can’t wait to begin receiving my CSA deliveries, but I still have some weeks before this happens. My local Whole Foods has just started receiving things like snap peas, spring strawberries, and my favorite: corn on the cob. Making me very happy. I’ve been making this salad for a a while now; long before I ever decided to eat vegan. I used to serve this with grilled chicken and it was delicious. So if you’re not crazy eating a plant-based diet, you could add chicken, fish, or even beef. I would guess that some shredded cheddar or cotija cheese would be great sprinkled on top as well.
I originally found the recipe at Epicurious and over time I’ve made some adjustments to suit my tastes and diet:
1 cup white/brown/long grain wild rice, whichever you prefer. (all are equally awesome.)
2/3 cup fresh lemon juice
4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
1 teaspoon raw agave nectar (or your sweetener of choice)
1 1/2 cups grilled fresh corn kernels (cut from 2 ears) or frozen corn kernels, thawed
1 cup chopped green bell pepper (can use any color pepper)
1 jalapeno, seeded and diced (leave some seeds/white membrane if you like it SPICY)
1 cup diced seeded yellow bell pepper
1 cup 1/2-inch cubes yellow summer squash
1 cup 1/2 inch cubes green zucchini
1 avocado, halved, peeled, diced
1/2 cup thinly sliced green onions
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
Cook rice until just tender (this will vary greatly depending on the variety of rice you use). Drain and rinse in cold water. Drain again.
If using fresh corn, remove husks. Grill on all sides until you begin to see char marks. Once cool enough to handle, cut corn off cob.
Meanwhile, whisk lemon juice, agave and 3 tablespoons oil in small bowl. Season dressing to taste with salt and pepper. Set aside.
Heat 1 tablespoon oil in large skillet over medium heat. Add corn, jalapeno, bell pepper, squash and zucchini. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Sauté until vegetables are just tender, 6 to 7 minutes; scrape into large bowl. Add rice, avocado, green onions, cilantro, and dressing; toss to coat. Season with salt and pepper. Enjoy!
I serve this over a bed of lettuce and often turn the meal into “tacos” by eating it all inside a whole wheat tortilla. Happy Spring!

About Nicole DiMauro

i am the *intern* for this green earth, a lively talk radio show on KPCW 91.9 FM about environmental issues & green living. download or listen live tuesday mornings at 9 am at www.kpcw.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

